Have catchy name, will blog!

Alright, so two things kept me from blogging for a long time. I know very well that I’m inconsistent in my posting, and even worse, I couldn’t come up with a catchy name! Oh, the horrors! I’d be … well … lost. Amongst the 36 million other women bloggers. THIRTY SIX MILLION? That’s according to I can’t recall who. Either the writer behind punditmom or Kristen of Motherhood Uncensored, on her podcast. That’s just the women in that count, too.

But okay. Surely there aren’t that many single moms with totally absent (thank whatever gods may be) “fathers” of their child(ren) who rock climb (or once did), practice yoga (sort of), snowboard (been years), do pottery (ditto) AND are biologists (looking for work) and write blogs? And heck, who use parentheses as often as I do? THERE! That’s my niche. Parenthetic statements. Just maybe there are people out there who are interested in reading, and putting up with my parenthetic comments?

Anyway, I listened halfheartedly to the podcast discussion I mentioned, and the thirtysix million figure was one of several things that caught my attention. I said, “Yeah, sure I’ll blog. I’ll just be another one in 36 million.” And there ya have it. My big excuse is gone. Sure, it doesn’t rate up there in quirky creativity like some of my favorite blogs have. But then again, I’m hardly aiming to replace my oh-so illustrious career as a research assistant/technician with selling adspace here. What’s the going rate, anyway…? totally disillusioned with science, here.

If you’re reading, let me know! Might make me post more often. Maybe.

4 responses to “Have catchy name, will blog!

  1. Have you ever seen “Rent” either in theatre-stage form, or movie form? Well, there’s a song from this that goes five hundred twenty five thousand six hundred minutes…which is the number of minutes in a year (or so)…but that was set to music. So now you have a song to go with “One in thirty six million” 🙂

  2. welcome to the world of blogging. I will be another faithful reader. Don’t get to discouraged with science, sometimes it leads to interesting things. Thanks for the heads up on the motherhood uncensored link – will totally fix when the boy has gone down for a nap / bedtime.

  3. Pingback: One Year « One in 36 Million·

Leave a Reply

