It struck me as odd

The scene:

My Nana, just after her 91st birthday, sitting in her chair. She was reading a newspaper or a magazine, I can’t recall which now. My mom, my aunt, and I each had our notebook computers out, and were tap-tapping away reading email, editing photos, writing blog posts.

My Nana was not just one of Canada’s first female computer programmers. She was one of Canada’s first computer programmers, regardless of gender.

The computer she worked on was larger than her present-day condo. Back then the concept of a desktop computer was still total fiction. People laughed and said, “yeah, right.”

And here she sat in a room with three computers, each much more powerful, each on a daughter or granddaughter’s lap.

I wish someone had taken a picture.

2 responses to “It struck me as odd

Leave a Reply

