A retraction

Did I seriously just post a few days ago asking for someone to save me from the Little Bunny?

Please, I retract that! I’ll gladly have Cameron want that story for sleepytime again tonight. Because his story choice for nap time was worse.

We’re lying, cuddled, in my bed. He’s been tossing, turning, fussing, playing, kicking his blanket off his feet and sobbing for them to be re-covered, for forty minutes. I’m in the process of re-discovering that holding a child to keep him still, under the assumption that he’ll fall asleep if he’d just LIE STILL, is quite counter productive.

Sigh. “Another story, Cameron? Once, there was a little bunny…”

“Nonono! Mommyyyyyyyyy! Airplane story, airplane.”

Huh? Okay. I launch into his lift-the-flap discover the airport story, from memory, describing it in boring, dull, slow detail. Done.

“Cameron and Mommy fly airplane? Fly Vancouver?”

“Yes, Cameron, we flew.”

“Airplane has propellers.” Times five, until I repeat it.

“Airplane has wheels.” Five times … I’m getting the drift of this.

He proceeds to coerce me into telling the story about how we flew from Comox to Vancouver.

Trouble is, when we get to the runway part …

“VROOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMM! UP UP UP UP UP UP UP UP!”

Yep, that’s right, he leaps to his feet and starts jumping, reaching high.

I have to try it. “There once was a little bunny?”

No-go. “SEE! FERRY! BOAT! SEE WAVES! SEE TREES! SEE FOUNTAINS!” He means mountains.

Yep, I gave up. I’m writing this in my bed. While he “settles” to nap in his bed. I can’t have another night like last night. I have a five hour interview tomorrow.

Editing to add … he’s been asleep for twenty minutes. He’s crying again.

Leave a Reply

