Snarl, Grump, Growl

We’re having A Morning. One of those. Actually, Cameron’s not having too bad a morning, just a mommy-attention-wanting intensive and whiney one. And I’m having an intense getoffmeNOW monrning.

Yeah yeah yeah. He needs attention. I know. In theory if I just give him a bit, I’ll get some time. It’s not working that way.

I don’t feel like reading again. I don’t feel like making yet another block house. I don’t feel like hearing for the nth time that an airplane has wheels. Frankly, I couldn’t care less. I don’t want to talk on the toy phone. I don’t want to find more airplanes on the computer. I really don’t feel like chasing after him at the playground. And no, I don’t feel like putting a happy face in here sweetheart I’m grouching.

And the EFFING cat keeps lying down on the keyboard. Do you know how hard it is to rant with a kitty lying on your fingers?

I gave myself a time out. Cameron didn’t quite know what to make of this. I sat in his timeout chair. The lights in my bedroom were out – to discourage him from playing in there with me. He stood in the hallway to watch. When I felt ready, I took a deep breath, called him over, and gave him a big hug. “I’m sorry I was mad at you about the spilled tea. I left it where I knew you could step in it. No more leaving my teamug on the floor.”

He spent the next fifteen minutes trying to catch Nimoo and put her in a timeout. So I got a bit of time to myself.

And here I sit, on the computer again, my teamug beside me. On the floor.

Think I can get myself another timeout?

(yes, the tea is cold, I don’t get to drink my tea while hot anymore)

One response to “Snarl, Grump, Growl

  1. ***hugs*** Hey Mel, it’s Dusty. I happened to notice the link to your blog on your posts on BBC and thought I would peek over. I’m sorry that you are having a bad day, but I just wanted to let you know that I totally understand. I have those days too. These terrible twos are mind melting at times! I hope that your day gets better.

Leave a Reply

