A Moment

He came into the bathroom saying, “Thump, thump! Heart goes thump!” I asked if I could listen to his heart, and got a nod and a smile. “Thumpthumpthumpthump,” I tried to keep up with his quick heartbeat. He smelled of oatmeal, banana, toothpaste, and little boy. Cameron wanted to listen to my heart too, and so I pulled him close. A moment later he was leaning against me, entranced and relaxed, ear pressed against my chest. We were in a hurry to get to the Canada Day party, but this was too sweet to pass up. I scooped him up and carried him to the comfy chair, where we sat and snuggled for ten minutes as he relaxed, listening to my heart.

Leave a Reply

