Fevered Rambling

(forgive me if this isn’t very coherent, concise … or … well-written. I’m finding out just how rotten Cameron felt the night of the ER trip last week.)

On the bus this morning a woman was half-shouting into her cell phone, sharing for all the passengers her opinions of her acquaintance who wasn’t married. It was very clear to all of us I think that she felt this other woman was somehow flawed in her character, and lacking on one major necessity of life experience. Poor thing, she doesn’t know what it’s like to commit to someone for the rest of your life.

Right then Cameron squirmed, and got his feet under him though he was sitting behind me suspended in his ergo. With his arms wrapped tightly in a throttle-hold around my throat he hauled himself up so he was standing, hugging me. I twisted to take some of the pressure off. After gently kissing my cheek a half-dozen times, Cameron sweetly announced, “I love you Mommy.”

I’m not married. I made the choice not to marry someone very much unsuitable for me, and it was the right choice to make. If anything I see it as a character flaw that I stayed with him as long as I did, not that I didn’t marry him! While I know that marrying someone is an entirely different commitment, you cannot tell me I don’t know what it’s like to commit to someone for the rest of my life. Marriages end as often as they don’t, they say. And yes, kids do disown their parents sometimes. But Cameron is my son. I am committed to him forever.

3 responses to “Fevered Rambling

  1. Beautifully stated! I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I just don’t know how you manage it all on your own, but I admire you oodles and oodles for being so fabulous at it!

  2. Hello with a Hug my Darling Daughter!
    Just sending a general “Thank You” for your writings.
    #1 -> gives a delightful insight into who you are (I already know you’re my wonderful kid, but these writings are you in so many roles) and
    #2 -> makes me feel somewhat guilty because I’d like to set up a link to potentially reach like-minded people too . . . no time! Must make time . . . how do you do it?

Leave a Reply

