Monday

What a day.

For starters, I didn’t say a thing about the situation when I dropped Cameron off, nor when I picked him up. I’ll admit I wasn’t as chatty-friendly as I normally am, but I didn’t give the other parent I saw nor the daycare provider a total cold shoulder. I almost asked Cameron’s best friend’s mom about the situation when I saw her at pick-up, but … well … just decided not to. I’ll wait until we’re back from Christmas, when things have cooled off a little, and then just calmly ask her to speak with me directly if she ever has any questions or concerns.

Today was a bit of a rush, after taking two days off last week. Add to that … I had forgotten procrastinated like mad about an online course I have to do. I had three months from regristration to complete it. Today was my last day. The good news is that its three exams are “open book”, so I just skimmed the material so I knew what was in each module, and didn’t bother studying. I finished three minutes before I had to go! Hoooray, I not only passed, but I rocked!

Why did I procrastinate? This is something that has been bothering me. But I think I know. What it comes down to is the material. It’s the introductory course for people working in labs that do animal research. Seriously, I’m happy not knowing what goes on in the surgical suite.  Also of course was the effect of my perfectionism and exam anxiety. Seriously, I was shaking from head to toe as I did the exams. I was afraid I wouldn’t pass, after all this is all new material for me. I’ve never worked on anything that required me to analyse the ethics of the study before! I haven’t looked after a rodent in decades. I’ve never set foot in the housing rooms.

On the other hand, had I not procrastinated I cannot imagine the quantity of time I would have wasted. I would have read those modules and taken notes on them! I would have studied those notes. Instead, I spent three and a half hours on the stupid thing.

In other news, I won another contest! Those blog blast things I occasionally participate in aren’t just fun to write. They have prizes, too. I don’t own a Wii, but I just won a prize package of eight family games for the thing! I’m thinking Christmas gifts for the sisters. I won’t see them until the end of the month – and if I don’t have the actual games yet, they’ll get I.O.U. cards.

Other happinesses of the day:

Cameron’s excited bum-wiggling dancing when he wanted to show me the fort they’d built in the playroom at daycare.

Dancing with Cameron at the bus stop to keep warm, singing our own music.

Crisp cold winter air, crunch of icy snow underfoot, warm glow of Christmas lights all down the street.

Cuddly warm kitty curled up in my lap, her chin draped over the back of my hand. Makes typing difficult, but lovely all the same.

Cameron curled up in bed, warm in his PJs and sleep sack, snuggled under his comforter too. He relaxed and listened quietly while I read Little Bear to him, a rarity these days.

The bubble bath I have filling up right now.

3 responses to “Monday

  1. Well you know, if you bought enough by the end of this month from my company, they’ve got a Wii promotion… he he he…

    Glad things went smoothly today, and of course you rocked the exam!!!

    We should do dinner — Thursday night? That way we can see one another before you go home for the holidays…

  2. Sounds like you handled the daycare anxiety beautifully. If you are cool about it, everybody else will be too… True for most situations we tend to get worked-up about.

    Hope your bath was deeeelightful.

  3. Darnit, Chris, if only I’d known I would’ve contacted your sales rep 🙂 … got a letter from someone there a while back. It’s on my “to do” list.

    Joe, the bath was, thanks, but I got interrupted! Cameron has discovered that he can get out of his bed on his own.

Leave a Reply

