One Year

It’s amazing how much can happen in a year.

One year ago I was unemployed, having been laid off due to lack of funding for my old research position. It was time to move on, anyway, as things had changed in the lab during my maternity leave, dynamics had altered, and it just wasn’t a good place for me any more. Now I’ve got a better position, that’s more interesting … heck, I’ll never ever be bored there. I’m starting to feel like I fit in, like I know most people, like I know what I’m doing.

One year ago Cameron was still in diapers, full-time. I had hopes of potty training him during the month of May – the idea was perfect, in theory. I would have around a week in Comox with laundry handy and extra help and that would get us started. Then Cameron would be with me for the whole month of May, out of daycare as I couldn’t really afford to keep sending him when I had no work to go to. Of course, potty training didn’t quite work out that well, not yet. He wasn’t ready, even if I was. I wound up being high-stressy over it, pissing off my family, and generally being very irrational. Oops. Still embarrassed about that. Now? Well, he’s pretty much toilet trained. During the day accidents are pretty rare, and he goes to the toilet unaccompanied. Heck, that some things belong in the potty is so ingrained that teaching him to vomit into the toilet was just a matter of telling him that’s where it goes. Night time training is still an issue. He’s dry every night when he wears pull-ups. Put him to bed without any though, and at three am he’s sobbing and soaking.

A year ago Cameron’s speech was much less complicated, consisting of phrases like, “Cameron Mommy fly airplane?” Now he’s speaking in full, complex sentences and making up words that fit when he doesn’t know exactly how to express himself.

Oh, and a year ago 42 rules still hadn’t been published.

I was attempting to clean all the dishes before I went to bed. Among other housekeeping challenges. Hmm. Not much changed there.

A year ago it snowed.

How do I know this?

Because a year ago I started this blog.

I know, I know, according to tradition I’m supposed to do a giveaway thing. I will. I’m in the process of updating and re-directing the site, and once I’ve done that I’ll do something. I’ve got an idea … so sit tight.

2 responses to “One Year

Leave a Reply

