Puppeteer

We were sitting on the bus – yes, that’s right, ‘my‘ car is getting fixed again. This time Leif’s brother Kyle is doing the work. So this time I’m thinking that I’ll have a car again, it’ll run, and how awesome, it sounds like he’s got the leaking sunroof fixed.  I swear, his whole family is wonderful. Welcoming, kind, generous.  But that’s not the story I want to tell tonight.

 

So back to Cameron and I were sitting on the bus.

 

He was playing with a puppet he’d made in class, smiling and happy. Distractedly, he made a comment that caught my attention. Put the phone away Melo, this is more important than Facebook.

 

Mama, what if we’re all just puppets?

 

I asked him what he meant, did he mean that someone was making us do everything, say everything, think everything?

 

Yeah. Just like puppets.

 

Hmmm. Okay. I asked him, who is pulling our strings then, who is working us?

 

God, of course, Mama. Well, duh.

 

This is new.  God, huh. So we talked for a bit about this. Does God choose everything for us? Decide where we go, how we move, what we say? What we think? Everyone, not just the people who believe? I pointed out that he gets unhappy when everyone around him – me, Leif, Kate – tells him what to do, how comfortable is he with the idea that someone else is making him do and say and think things?

 

God must be very busy.

 

Yeah, I agreed, it must be exhausting.

 

But Mama. Wait. Who is God’s puppeter?

 

I waited, watching him think.

 

THAT’s what I wanna be when I grow up!

One response to “Puppeteer

Leave a Reply

